2017 Field Ecology Summer Regional Governor's School

June 12 through July 7, 2017


Very Important Notice!!!

This is a tentative tentative schedule! Weather and other unforseen and uncontrolable matters may force us to make changes. We'll update here as needed.

First Session: Salamander Study

Mon., June 12
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Pretests
Get acquainted; Introduction to field journaling
Salamander ID and protocol
e-Field Guide ideas & evaluation rubrics
Photography basics
Practice tent set-up
Tues., June 13
9:00 AM -

Leave for Laurel Fork, Highland County, VA
Stop at Greenbank National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Greenbank, WV
Stop at Gaudineer Knob near Durbin, WV
Establish camp at Laurel Fork trailhead
Review salamander ID and protocol
Time for field guide work (exploration and photography)

Wed., June 14
All day

Salamander study at Laurel Fork (trail to be determined)
Time for field guide work

Thurs., June 15
ETA 3:00 PM
"Wilderness Survival" exercise
Locust Spring hike
Return to DSLCC
Clean up, etc.
Mon., June 19
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Collate and analyze salamander data
Complete rough draft of salamander paper
Work on field guides in computer lab
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS
Tues., June 20
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Morning field trip to Douthat State Park
Work on field guides in computer lab
Wed., June 21
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Final draft of salamander paper
Contemporary issues in ecology: Climate change
Finalize field guides
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS

Thurs., June 22
9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Posttests
Presentation of field guides
Reception for parents & closing ceremony at 1:30 PM
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS

Second Session: Forestry Study

Mon., June 26
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Pretests
Get acquainted; Introduction to field journaling
Tree ID and forestry protocol
Leaf / Tree e-field guide discussion & evaluation rubrics
Photography basics
Practice tent set-up
Tues., June 27
9:00 AM -

Leave for Greenbrier State Forest, Caldwell, WV
Stop at Roaring Run (Botetourt Co., VA) for tree ID and leaf photography
Establish camp at Greenbrier State Forest
Review tree ID and forestry protocol
Time for field guide work (exploration and photography)
Star Party after dark (weather permitting)

Wed., June 28
All day

Forestry study at Lake Moomaw
Time for field guide work
Annual talent show (participation required!)
Night journaling

Thurs., June 29
ETA 3:30 PM
Return to DSLCC via Cranberry Glades Botanical Area and Nature Center, Monongalhela National Forest
Clean up, etc.
Mon., July 3
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Collate and analyze forestry data
Complete rough draft of forestry paper
Work on field guides in computer lab
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS
Wed., July 5
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Morning field trip to Douthat State Park
Work on field guides in computer lab
Thurs., July 6
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Final draft of forestry paper
Contemporary issues in ecology: Energy extraction
Finalize field guides
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS

Fri., July 7
9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Posttests
Presentation of field guides
Reception for parents & closing ceremony at 1:30 PM
SUBMIT NOTEBOOKS

Return to Info Page

Updated 2/9/17